ABOUT US

- 1. Mandates of Division
- 2. <u>Duties of Commissioner</u>
- 3. Role & Functions of Commissioner

1. Mandates of the Division:

The Office of Divisional Commissioner coordinates the activities of various Divisional level Departments and the six

Revenue Districts/ seven Police Districts within the Division (see Directory). The tasks are carried out by the following officers and staff functioning from the core office:

SI.	Post/Desig nation	Name of Officers	Telephone Nos. (code 91-0621)	
			Offic e	Residence
1.	Commission er	Sri H.R.Srinivasa IAS	2212 103 2212972(F ax)	2212 104 2212202(Fax)
2.	Secretary to Commissioner	Sri Shyam Kishore, BAS	2212 972	2213 134
3.	Regional Development Officer	Smt. Punita Srivastava, BAS	2213 962	
4.	Dy. Transport Commission er	Smt. Punita Srivastava, BAS		2221 157
5.	Dy. Director, Welfare	Sri Ratan Kumar		
6.	Dy.Director, Food & C.Supply	Smt. Punita Srivastava, BAS		2228 221
7.	Dy. Director, Panchayati Raj	Smt. Punita Srivastava, BAS	2213 962	2247 688
8.	Dy. Director, National Savings	Smt. Punita Srivastava, BAS		
9.	Dy. Director, Raj Bhasha	Smt. Punita Srivastava, BAS	2213 962	2247 688
10.	Dy. Director, Public Relations	Sri Biddubhu shan Kumar	2602 70	

11.	Dy. Director, Physical Education			2255 017
12.	Dy. Director, Statistics	Sri Brajesh Trivedi ,BSS		
13.	Regional Planning Officer	Sri Brajesh Trivedi ,BSS	2221 027	
14.	Superintending Engineer, GADA			

Divisional level Technical, Development, Police and other Regulatory Departmental officers viz Dy. Inspector General of Police-Tirhut Range, DIG of Police- Champaran Range, Conservator of Forest, Chief Engineers/ Superintending Engineers of Electricity Board/ Water Resource, (Irrigation/ Canal/ Embankment/ Flood Control)/ Minor Irrigation/ State Tubewells/ Public Health Engineering/ Road Construction/ National Highways/ Rural Engineering Organisations/ Building Construction, Jt. Commissioner of Commercial Taxes, Jt. Cane Commissioner, Dy. Commissioner of Excise, Dy. Labour Commissioner, Jt. Registrar of Cooperative Societies, Jt. Director of Agriculture, Regional Director of Animal Husbantry, Regional Dy. Director of Health, RDD of Education, Dy. Director of Fisheries, Dy. Director of Horticulture, Dy. Director of Mines, Dy. Director of Industries etc function independently from their respective offices under the overall supervision/coordination of the Divisional Commissioner.

2. Duties of Commissioner (summery)

The duties performed by the Divisional Commissioner is summarized as follows:

- (a) General Administration and supervision as Head of the Division;
- b) Land Revenue Administration, Revenue Collection and Mobilization of Internal Resources;
 - (c) Supervision and monitoring of Rural Development Schemes and other Departmental Programmes;
 - (d) Maintenance of Internal Security, Law & Order including supervision of Police & Magistracy;
- (e) Preparation for Disaster Management Plan, Flood control and Relief measures;
- (f) Control, supervision of and guidance to the District Collectors and other officers;
- (g) Co-ordination with various Departmental Officers of the Division;
 - (h) Court work to hear and dispose of appeals/ revision petitions relating to Revenue, Supply, Arms, House Control, Service, Certificate cases and other matters;
 - (i) Regulation of Transports, grants of permits to commercial vehicles as Chairman of Regional Transport Authorities;
 - (j) Implementation of Integrated Irrigation, Soil Conservation, Agriculture &Research Programmes .

(k) Supervision & conduct of elections to Parliamentary, Bihar Legislative Assembly & Council, Panchayati Raj and Municipal Bodies.

Commissioner as Chairman:

In addition, the Divisional Commissioner is the Chairman of various Bodies/Committees some of them are:

- 1] North Bihar Regional Transport Authority
- 2] Research Institute of Prakrit Jainology and Ahimsa, Basokund
- 3] SK Medical College & Hospital, Muzaffarpur (Governing Body)
- 4] Corpus Fund Monitoring Committee of SKMCH
- 5] Regional Diagnostic Centres, Muzaffarpur & Motihari
- 6] Establishment Committee for Basic Grade Medical Officers
- 7] Muzaffarpur Institute of Technology (Governing Body)-MIT
- 8] Standing Committee for Inter College Affiliation
- 9] Establishment Committee for Secondary School Teachers
- 10] Establishment Committee for Labour Enforcement Officers
- 11] Establishment Committee for Lady Supervisors of ICDS
- 12] Divisional Environment Committee
- 13] Task Force Monitoring Committee for Forest Conservation
- 14] Workshop & Evaluation Committee for Traditional Craftsmen & Artisans
- 15] Divisional Allotment Committee for Bihar State Housing Board
- 16] Sairat Reserved Price Fixation Committee
- 17] Bettiah Raj Land Lease & Settlement Committee

3. (Role & Functions of Commissioner:

Government of Bihar Department of Personnel

RESOLUTION

No. 210307 PATNA - 15 THE 28-11-

1972